Glittering night as awards handed out at Mytton Fold

editorial image
Have your say

Mytton Fold Golf Club celebrated in style when they held their annual Prize Presentation evening on Friday.

Star of the evening was Allison Nuttall who was a regular visitor to the front of the banqueting suite to receive no less than eight awards.

Captain John Berry and Lady Captain Jean Havard also presented cheques to representatives of their selected charities for 2011.

North West Ambulance’s regional fundraiser Alison Whittaker-Stewart received a cheque for almost £6000 from Captain John Berry.

Ruth Loft, from Breakthrough Breast Cancer, received a cheque for £3100 from Lady Captain Jean Havard. An additional £1200 was presented to Breakthrough Breast Cancer in memory of social member Yvonne Kay.

The incoming Club Captain Gordon Lucas and Lady Captain Patricia Leyland both announced their Captains Elect.

To the great shock of current Seniors League President John Hammond, he found that his wife Doreen was to become next year’s Lady Captain and that his son, Philip, was to be the Club’s Captain alongside her!

Award winners on the night were: Juniors - Frank Hargreaves Memorial - Harry Crossley; Captain’s Weekend and President’s Day - Shaun Aldred; Jubilee Cup, Roger Osliffe Memorial and Bill Almond Memorial - Kyle Furlong.

Ladies - Winter Singles Knockout - Patricia Leyland; Winter Doubles Knockout - Jean Havard and Judith Kay; April Medal and 9 Hole Order of Merit - Doreen Hammond; April Stableford, June Medal and August Stableford - Jean Havard; May Medal - Linda Clegg; June Stableford - Matt Ainsworth; July Stableford - Tarja Wilson; September Stableford - Judith Kay; Inaugural Lady Captain’s Day, Lady Captain’s Day and Pharman Cup - Linda Clegg; Jubilee Trophy - Patricia Leyland; Summer Singles Knockout - Jean Sanderson; Summer Doubles Knockout - Jean Sanderson and Allison Nuttall; Lady Captains Drive In, Frank Hargreaves Memorial, Captain’s Weekend, Roger Osliffe Memorial, President’s Day, Bill Almond Memorial and March Medal - Allison Nuttall.

Men - Winter Mixed Knockout - Sue and Chris Hughes; Winter Pairs - Dave Halsall and Peter Main; Eurotrophy - Wayne Ivinson; Spring Texas Scramble - Matt Ainsworth, Mick Walsh and Mick Mahon; ELGA Handicap Qualifier - Matt Walsh; Irish Doubles - John Berry and David Clegg; First Algarve - Sam Cowan; EGU Medal - Mick Bryan; May Stableford - Frank Tunstall; Second Algarve - John Whittaker; Hall Of Fame Qualifier - Graham Plant; International Pairs - Chris Chadwick and Keith Gill; Charity Qualifier - Glynn Watson; ELGA Mixed Qualifier - Jean Havard and Frank Hindle; August Monthly Medal - Luke Chadwick; September Monthly Medal - Jean Luc Van Boeckel; Autumn Texas Scramble - Zac Ashworth, Patrick Ashworth and Luke Chadwick; Kevin Shanley Trophy - Bernard Downes; Duffer’s Cup - Danny Glover; Captain v President - Gary Aldred; Singles Knockout Div 2 - Mick Mahon; Mixed Doubles Knockout - Jean Havard and Frank Hindle; Senior Singles Knockout - Ray Standring; Senior Doubles Knockout; Mick Walsh and Jean Luc Van Boeckel; Men’s Doubles Knockout - Steve Brooks and Phil Clegg; Singles Knockout - Frank Tunstall; Winter Order of Merit - Mick Walsh; Captain’s Drive in - Jean Luc Van Boeckel and Jim Tierney; Inaugural Lady Captain’s Day - Ian Hopcraft; Post Office Cup - Mark Slater; Pharman Cup - Patrick Ashworth; Lady Captain’s Day - Phil Hammond; Founder Captains Day - Steve Brooks; Queen’s Jubilee Trophy - Sam Cowan; Frank Hargreaves Memorial - Matt Ainsworth; Frank Hargreaves Memorial Seniors - Frank Havard; Cavalier Putter - Steve Korab; Captain’s Day - Keith Gill; President’s Day - Chris Chadwick; Roger Osliffe Memorial - Jean Luc Van Boeckel; Bill Almond Memorial - Jean Luc Van Boeckel; Bill Almond Memorial Seniors - Peter Fox; Past Captain’s Memorial - Ian Hopcraft; Champion of Champions - Patrick Ashworth; Order Of Merit - Wayne Ivinson; Club Champion - John Berry.

Saturday saw a few late starters, and sore heads, following the previous evening’s Presentation Award Night.

Played over the shortened 16-hole winter course, the singles competition produced the closest of finishes with three players carding 34 points.

After cards it was a win for Eddie Scott, with Frank Hindle taking second.

Neither Phil’s Hammond’s Movember moustache, nor his newly announced position of Captain-Elect seemed to have hampered his game as he took third spot.

Despite being just one point behind the winner, Chris Chadwick came home in fourth, but did have his hand in the twos pot when he eagled the second.

Five others shared the twos with Chris, but took theirs at the regulation par-3s. Gary Ashton, Barry Hargreaves, Mick Walsh and Jean Van Boeckel all birdied the first, while Luke Chadwick waited until the ninth.

Stars of the Winter Pairs this week were Mark Slater and Gary Ashton who came in with an amazing 40 points over the 16 holes. Just behind were the pairings of Dave Halsall/Peter Main and John Berry/Dave Clegg just one point behind.